jubilantfields

Just another WordPress.com site

Weekends Go By Too Quickly… January 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jubilant Fields @ 2:33 pm

I like to relax.  I like to lounge.  I like to sleep.  I do not like to run around crazily like a chicken with my head cut off.  Alas, it seems as though life has no intention of catering to my likes.  Since I’ve been going to grad school, I live for the weekends.  Between my attending class two nights a week and The Hubs working a closing shift at his retail management job on two alternate nights a week, about the only time I have my whole family together is on the weekend.  In the same vein, however, that’s also the only time we really get anything accomplished, since we’re so busy throughout the week.  If possible, we’re even busier on the weekends.

 

This weekend was no exception.  Saturday, we had to go grocery shopping.  There was a serious lack of food in the house.  Or, I should say, a serious lack of edible food in the house.  When we got home from the grocery store, we had to clean out our pantry.  It was overflowing with food that was well past its useful life.  On the upside, I now have a perfectly organized pantry.  Let’s see how long it stays that way.  This weekend’s task is to do the same with the freezer.  Yikes.  Anyhow, Saturday evening, we had “Family Game Night” at my parents’ house.  About once a month or so, my parents try to get all of their children and grandchildren together for dinner and games.  This time, my youngest brother actually requested the get together, because he wanted his new girlfriend to meet the family as a whole.  To say that we can be overwhelming is an understatement.  We are loud, obnoxious, and fun, but we’re really a lot to handle.  Though she’d met pretty much everyone individually, she’d yet to take us in as a group.  She handled it beautifully.  As usual, we had a fantastic time.  Typically, though, we are laden with heavy, fatty, cheese, sugary foods to snack on throughout the evening.  This weekend presented a new challenge, since all of the women in the family are presently trying to improve their eating habits, and my brother’s girlfriend is a vegetarian (an even bigger culture shock to my super-meat-eating family than the fact that my brother, who comes from a looooooooooooong line of Cubs fans, is now dating a Cardinal lover!)  We did really well on food, though.  I brought a few foot longs from Subway (including a veggie sub for the new chick), which we cut into small pieces, and a fruit salad.  A far cry from my typical buffalo chicken dip and red velvet chocolate cheesecake, I’d say.  We also had more fresh fruit, fresh veggies, baked tortilla chips with salsa, and several different kinds of 100 calorie packs.  I didn’t feel deprived at all.

 

While I was at my mom’s, I took the opportunity to weigh myself.  I don’t have a scale at home yet (they previously depressed me, so I banned them from the house).  I’ve lost five pounds!  I was super excited!  That’s nothing compared to what I have to lose, but I’ve decided to rejoice in small victories.  🙂

 

Sunday was a busy day as well.  We had church in the morning, praise band practice in the afternoon, and friends coming to visit in the evening.  Sunday is my “cheat” day.  I thought long and hard about what I wanted to have.  I’ve found that when I am being successful in my weight loss, I tend not to go crazy on cheat day, lest I ruin everything I’ve accomplished thus far.  This was the case yesterday.  I decided on the same whole-wheat blueberry waffles I had a few days ago (so delicious that I don’t even care that they’re a healthy recipe), chili and corn muffins for lunch, and meatloaf, mashed potatoes and green beans for dinner.  Though I made some serious comfort food favorites, I went ahead and “healthed” them up to some extent, keeping exact track of all of the ingredients so that I could be aware of the calories.  At the end of dinner, I allowed myself to eat one of the Reese’s peanut butter cup cookies that I made for my kids a couple of days ago.  Even with the “cheat” day and nicely-sized cookie for dessert, I still came in well below my calorie max for the day.  I’m calling it a win!

 

Leave a Reply

